Thursday, September 11, 2008

Latest news from TDCJ about Ike

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Brad Livingston
Executive Direct

TDCJ Evacuates Additional Prison Units in Preparation of Hurricane Ike Landfall

Sept. 11, 2008 – Texas Department of Criminal Justice officials began evacuations early Thursday of three TDCJ units located in areas likely to be affected by Hurricane Ike.

The Terrell and Clemens units in Brazoria County and the Carole S. Young Medical Facility Complex in Galveston County began evacuations early Thursday morning. The 1,561 offenders from Terrell, located at 1300 FM 655 in Rosharon, were en route to units in the Huntsville area while 1,068 inmates assigned to Clemens, located at 11034 Highway 36 in Brazoria, were en route to units in the Palestine area. Evacuations are expected to be complete by early Thursday afternoon.

A total of 402 female offenders assigned to the Young Unit were transported to the Gatesville Unit in Gatesville. Those evacuations were completed at 9:30 a.m. Thursday.

Weekend visitation will be canceled at the following TDCJ prison units, although it is advised that visitors contact the unit prior to traveling to ensure visitation has not been canceled at other TDCJ facilities not listed below.

Beto Unit in Tennessee Colony

Briscoe Unit in Dilley

Byrd Unit in Huntsville

Central Unit in Sugar Land

Clemens Unit in Brazoria

Coffield Unit in Tennessee Colony

Connally Unit in Kenedy

Darrington Unit in Rosharon

Eastham Unit in Lovelady

Ellis Unit in Huntsville

Estelle Unit in Huntsville

Ferguson Unit in Midway

Gatesville Unit in Gatesville

Goree Unit in Huntsville

Hightower Unit in Dayton

Hilltop Unit in Gatesville

Hobby Unit in Marlin

Hodge Unit in Rusk

Hospital Galveston in Galveston

Huntsville Unit in Huntsville

Jester I Unit in Richmond

Jester III Unit in Richmond

Jester IV Unit in Richmond

LeBlanc Unit in Beaumont

Lewis Unit in Woodville

Luther Unit in Navasota

Lynaugh Unit in Fort Stockton

McConnell Unit in Beeville

Michael Unit in Tennessee Colony

Mountain View Unit in Gatesville

Murray Unit in Gatesville

Pack Unit in Navasota

Polunsky Unit in Livingston

Powledge Unit in Palestine

Ramsey I Unit in Rosharon

Scott Unit in Angleton

Segovia Unit in Edinburg

Skyview Unit in Rusk

Stevenson Unit in Cuero

Stiles Unit in Beaumont

Stringfellow Unit in Rosharon

Terrell Unit in Rosharon

Vance Unit in Richmond

Wynne Unit in Huntsville

Carole S. Young Medical Facility Complex in Texas City

Duncan Unit in Diboll

Fort Stockton Unit in Fort Stockton

Garza East Unit in Beeville

Garza West Unit in Beeville

Goodman Unit in Jasper

Gurney Unit in Tennessee Colony

Holliday Unit in Huntsville

Marlin Facility in Marlin

Glossbrenner Unit in San Diego

Gist State Jail in Beaumont

Henley State Jail in Dayton

Kegans State Jail in Houston

Lopez State Jail in Edinburg

Lychner State Jail in Humble

Plane State Jail in Dayton

Woodman State Jail in Gatesville

Willacy County State Jail in Raymondville

Cleveland Unit in Cleveland

Diboll Unit in Diboll

East Texas Treatment Facility in Henderson

South Texas Intermediate Sanction Facility in Houston

Jefferson County Leased Bed Facility in Beaumont

Newton County Leased Bed Facility in Newton

Family members needing information on incarcerated offenders may contact TDCJ’s 24-hour Hurricane Hotline at (936) 437-6127.

Earlier in the week, TDCJ officials had taken the precaution of evacuating 12 female dialysis patients from the Young Unit to the Estelle Unit in Huntsville . On Wednesday, an additional 1,336 offenders from the Stevenson Unit in Cuero were evacuated to the McConnell Unit in Beeville and the Connally Unit in Kenedy, and 597 offenders at the Glossbrenner Unit in San Diego were evacuated to the Briscoe Unit in Dilley.

No comments: